Site Overlay

Maoists win 120 out of 240 seats (FPTP counting of CA Poll is over)

The counting for the votes under the First-Past-The-Post (FPTP) has been completed.

According to the final tally, the Maoists have won 120 out of the total 240 seats under FPTP. It has fallen one short of commanding clear majority under FPTP.

Nepali Congress (NC) is a distant second with 37 seats followed by the Unified Marxist Leninist (UML) with 33 seats.

The Madhesi Janadhikar Forum (MJF) bagged 30 seats while Terai Madhes Loktantrik Party (TMLP) won 9 seats.

Rajendra Mahato-led Sadbhavana Party has pocketed four seats. Two seats each have been won by Nepal Workers and Peasants Party (NWPP), Peoples Front and independent candidates. Rastriya Janamorcha won one seat.

The counting of votes under Proportional Representation (PR) category, too, is nearing completion.

(Source: Nepalnews)

Published By:

Author: sakinshrestha

Hello. My name is Sakin Shrestha, and I am a technology entrepreneur from Nepal. I am passionate about helping this sector grow, for many reasons. The technology sector creates jobs for many young Nepalis who would otherwise migrate to foreign countries. It lets Nepali professionals develop skills for a fast-changing global workplace, and compete at a high level with anyone, anywhere in the world. If it grows, it will provide a viable career option for many young Nepalis, and help us reap the benefits of a global economy.